The Wireless and Optical Communications Conference (WOCC) is held once a year to exchange information among Chinese professionals from China,Taiwan, Hong-Kong, Singapore, and the United States on the progress ofm technologies in the wirelessand optical communications arena. The main objective of the annual conference is to strengthen the technical and business relationships between the Asian and North American wireless and optical communications industries and provide a forum to bring together experts and industry leaders to exchange advancement in wireless and optical communications technologies, business experiences, and jointly explore new opportunities.

            This conference is organized by several major Chinese-American professional organizations, which include:

  • The Chinese Institute of Engineers - USA (CIE-USA) 

  • The Photonics Society of Chinese Americans (PSC)

  • The Chinese Association of Science and Technology (CAST)

  • The Chinese American Academic and Professional Society (CAAPS)

  • The Monte Jade Science and Technology Association (MJSTA) 

We have held the following conferences in previous years:

  • 1992 Optical Communication Conference April, 1992 Chair: Dr. Tao-Yuan Chang 

  • 1993 Wireless Communications Conference April 19,
    1993 Conference Chair: Dr. Wen-Ning Hsieh, DVI Communications Program Chair: Mr. James J. C. Chang, AT&T Bell Laboratories

  • 1995 Wireless and Optical Communications Conference April 8, 1995 Conference Chair: Dr. Kang Yueh, AT&T Bell Laboratories Program Chair: Dr. Sing Lin, Bellcore

  • 1996 Optical and Wireless Communications Conference April 6, 1996 Conference Chair: Dr. Chinlon Lin, Bellcore Program Chair: Dr. Tien-Wen Hou, Lucent Technologies


  • 1997 Wireless Communications Conference April 5, 1997 Conference Chair: Dr. John C. Chiang, Koo's Group Telecomm Program Chair: Dr. Li-Fung Chang, Bellcore Coordinator: Dr. Wen-Yi Kuo

  • 1998 Wireless and Optical Communications Conference April 3-4, 1998 Conference Chair: Dr. William C. Y. Lee, AirTouch Program Chairs: Dr. Gee-Kung Chang, Bellcore Dr. Chih-Lin I, AT&T Coordinator: Dr. ChingYao Huang


                                                                          back to top

      [ Conference Organizing Associations ]
  • The Chinese Institute of Engineers-USA (CIE-USA)
  • The Photonics Society of Chinese-Americans (PSC)
  • The Chinese Association of Science and Technology (CAST)
  • The Chinese American Academic and Professional Society
  • The Monte Jade Science and Technology Association (MJSTA)   @


                                                                          back to top

      [ Advisory Board -- 1999 ~ 2000 ]


Lin-Nan Lee Hughes Network Systems

Vice Chair: 
Chih-Lin I AT&T

Cheng-Jen Chen Auctor Corporation

Gee-Kung Chang Telcordia Technologies
Li-Fung Chang AT&T
Tao-Yuan Chang Lucent Technologies
Terry Cheng Lucent Technologies
Russell Hsing Telcordia Technologies
William C.Y. Lee Vodafone AirTouch
Chinlon Lin Tyco Submarine Systems Labs
Michael H. Wang AT&T
Kang Yueh Lucent Technologies

                                                                         back to top

     [ Conference Planning Committee ]


Conference Organizers: 
Terry Cheng, Lucent Technologies, 973-386-2563  

Yung-Jui Ray Chen
University  of Maryland,

Conference Chair: 
Tingye Li, Former President of the Optical Society of America<>

Program Chair: 
On-Ching Yue, Lucent Technologies, 732-949-4447
Haifeng Li, Tyco Submarine Systems Ltd., 732-578-7330

Program Coordinator: 
Robert C. Wang, Lucent Technologies, 973-386-7608

I-Fong Wu, Lucent Technologies, 973-386-7243

Public Relations:
Kang Yueh, Lucent Technologies, 973-386-7893

                                                                         back to top



Copyright 2000 Dafanet Communication